Operation Body Shape Starts Now…

Hello and welcome to my blog

I’ve been toying with the idea of writing a blog for some time and finding it hard to think of content for said blog.

Then I had a brainwave!! Operation Body Shape…

For many years I’ve struggled to be happy with my body shape, a lot of people compliment me on my curvaceous figure but to me it’s just too curvy for my liking. And I guess I’m not alone in feeling like this.

As a qualified personal trainer and nutritional therapist, I have all the knowledge I need to be able to help me to change my shape.

So, the idea I have for the blog is to share this journey with you. I am now 34, with my 35 birthday in July 2012; I am determined by this date to be in the shape I want to be.

I’m aware that this journey will have lots of ups and downs but think that sharing these with you will help me stay on track and also help you achieve a goal that you might have set yourself for the future.

You may have noticed I’ve not mentioned weight in this blog so far; this is because I don’t really care how much I weigh as really its irrelevant! I just want to be happy with my body shape, if this involves some weight loss then so be it, but I’m more interested in getting fit and being generally healthy rather than focusing on the weight.

I’m not going to go on a “diet” per say, as I don’t think they work, it’s more about changing your habits and mind set.

The plan to do this is to try to eat a little less. On the whole my diet is pretty good; I’m blessed with the ability to cook, so generally I cook all my meals from scratch, so by doing this I’m not putting the local takeaway out of business! I think my main problem is that I just eat too much of what I cook.

The other action is to be more active! I’ve always loved going to the gym but in the past few months I’ve been a bit slack at getting there, so I am going to make a real effort to get up early in the morning and get to the gym; when I do go, I feel so much better for it!!

I’m also going to join the local rowing club; it’s something I’ve thought about a couple of times in the past but never really got round to doing it.  Since leaving school I’ve played hockey for a club, which I really liked but for the past couple of seasons I’ve haven’t played for many reasons, but now feel ready to try a new sport/challenge.

I’ll keep you posted on how I get on with this and Operation Body Shape.

I will also be on the lookout for interesting articles around health and nutrition.

5 thoughts on “Operation Body Shape Starts Now…

  1. Hi Rachel

    This is a great idea I will definitely follow your progress. A good tip I was given was to take the dog for a walk after you’ve eaten – distracts you from picking at leftovers and helps digestion (alledgedly!). Happy New Year and congrats on your first blog!

    Louisa x

  2. RachelNewLeaf says:

    Thanks for your comments.

    I don’t have a dog to walk but will be portioning up the food as I serve myself so there aren’t any leftovers hanging around.

    Take Care,

    Rachel xx

  3. Martin says:

    That’s a good start Rachel. All manageable and realistic. We could all do something similar without being hung up on weight. Just healthier. Nice one..Martin

  4. PJ says:

    Good luck Rachel ! I would be interested to hear of the nutritional foods you are using to keep your energy levels up !

Leave a Reply

