Operation Body Shape – Back on track now!!

After the blip last week I’ve managed to get back into the routine of exercise, managing 4 times at the gym (2 CV, 1 Weight and 1 swim) and also went rowing too, more about that later!!

Food wise, I’m getting there too; the small plate system is great as I don’t have to worry about over eating and I’m just being very conscious when I go into the kitchen about grabbing snacks.

I bought some Nairn’s wheat free biscuits (http://www.nairns-oatcakes.com/our-oaty-food/oat-biscuits) as a snack which I know are still biscuits but are much healthier than the normal biscuits you buy and as they contain oats they do actually fill you up. So I just have 1 or 2 when I’m peckish.

I have manage to get into lots of little routines to make sure I’m staying on track such as having some ProGreens when I get up,  a pear on the way home from the gym and oatcakes with peanut butter and banana before bed.  I take a number of nutritional supplements to make sure I stay in “optimum health” and will talk about these in the coming weeks.

The 2 that I’m going to mention today are:

ProGreens and Cherry Active

ProGreens powder – An all-natural blended variety of “Super Foods” including green grasses, sea vegetables, algae, adaptogenic herbs and active probiotics. I make a drink with this powder every morning, mixing it with water and orange juice. When made up in a drink it doesn’t look that nice, (well I would describe it as looking like pond water) but it doesn’t taste too bad; well I don’t think so anyway and have been taking it for years and I really notice a difference when I don’t take it.

Cherry Active – This is a concentrated cherry juice which you dilute with water to make a drink or you can buy it in capsule form, I use the diluted drink when I go to the gym. I find it very refreshing and not too sweet.  It contains very high levels of antioxidants which can help with sport recovery, joint care, sleep and antioxidant health (http://www.cherryactive.co.uk/index.html).

My alcohol draught finished this week when I went to London for an awards ceremony, and yes it did taste good after 3 weeks without any alcohol. But not good enough to make me go back to my old habits. I’ve made a pact with myself to only drink when I’m out or have company at home.  The fact that I know it affects my sleep and also that I go to the gym 1st thing in the morning helps me to give it a miss most nights.

Rowing this week was all a bit scary. I went out on the river in a 4 man boat, with 2 experienced rowers & 1 other beginner. This was only the 2nd time I’d been in a boat so found it hard to maintain my stroke pattern and I nearly made the boat flip over a couple of times, so my adrenaline was going crazy by the time I got back on dry land. We did manage to row up to Washingborough & back and when I got it right, I can understand why mad people like me get up and out in the cold, as it was just lovely and peaceful to be on the water. BUT I am having my doubts about doing this as I was petrified at times, and the more I think about, it the more scared I get. However, I’m not one for giving up on things as many of my friends will know, so I will just have to bite the bullet, swallow the fear and give it another go next week.

The good news is that I have started to feel that all this hard work is paying off as I do think that some of my clothes are feeling looser than they did at the start of the year. This is just fabulous and is much more motivating than figures on the scales but next week I will be weighing myself and taking my measurements to see if there has been any change in these. I will let you know my progress to date.

Have a good week and Healthy Regards,

Rachel xx

 

Leave a Reply

