Operation Body Shape – Still a long way to go

Well after the euphoria of how well I did in January, I’ve seem to have lost a little bit of momentum with it all.

Yes, I’m still getting to the gym on a regular basis despite the snow giving me a very good reason not to go, but am finding it hard to move myself to the next level of fitness. My body is now fairly used to going and settles into the exercises well but I don’t want to settle for what I’ve got; I want to change so I’m having to really dig deep into my knowledge bank of exercises to try to keep me A: interested in what I’m doing and B: My body not getting into a routine so is always having to adapt to itself to what it’s being asked to do.

In the gym they’ve recently bought some VIPR, (you might of seen them on the biggest loser a couple of weeks ago) but basically they are different size and weighted tubes which have hand holes in them

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are many different exercises you can do with them so I’ve now printed off from their official website a number of exercise routines which I’m going to give a go and see what they are like.

In my first couple of blog post I’ve mentioned about me having problems sleeping. Having given up caffeine and alcohol this has helped but still I’m getting disturbed sleep. I thought I’d share with you some of my sleeping patterns. I’ve got an app on my phone called sleep cycle which monitors your sleep by picking up your movements as you sleep using its accelerometer which it translates into which sleeping phase you are in.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is an example of what your sleep should roughly look like as you go through phases of deep sleep and REM sleep, the one above is a theoretical chart

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

This one above is someone’s actual sleep patterns, which clearlys shows the cycles of deep sleep & REM Sleep

And here are a few of my sleep patterns

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see on most nights I wake up during the night, which leads to me feel sluggish in the morning.

I know that many people suffer from sleep issues and it’s one of the hardest things to crack due to it being affected by so many different influences.

So apart from now avoiding caffeine and alcohol as much as I can, I also take a magnesium supplement every night before sleep to help my muscles relax. I mentioned Cherry Active a couple of weeks ago, so I have a small glass of that before bed. I also have a small snack of two oat cakes with some peanut butter and banana if I have any in the house.

Having a small snack before bed can help your body regulate it’s blood sugar levels as you sleep.

Other things to do include:

Having a hot bath or shower in the evening

Using essential oils to help relax you

Meditation or deep breathing to slow your body down

In terms of my diet, I’m finding this the hardest part of “Operation Body Shape”; I just love food and I don’t feel like I’m depriving myself of anything ,but there is still something not quite right. So I am working hard on this bit of it to try to move on from how I feel.

Tally ho until next week

Rachel

One thought on “Operation Body Shape – Still a long way to go

  1. Hi Rachel, Its great to hear your progress, but like the majority of people you are struggling with mind over matter! Hypnotherapy can change your mindset in relation to food and help with sleep – you should give it a go and see what difference it can make…. Why struggle when you don’t need to – why fight when you can change the way you think and react to food so that your mind and body work together to shed the weight easily, successfully and, most importantly perminently….www.perfect-mind.co.uk

Leave a Reply

