Operation Body Shape – Stopped in my tracks

Well this week hasn’t been the best! I managed to drag myself to the gym on Monday morning and that’s the last time I’ve been.

I’ve not been feeling great this week. I can’t really put my finger on why, but I’ve  just not been feeling 100% so I decided that it must be my body saying that it needs a bit of a rest. I don’t feel like I’ve been overdoing it in terms of exercise, but then I know my sleeping hasn’t been great even with no caffeine and I’ve also been a little stressed of late too. I think all of this has just put a strain on my body. It’s been nice having lie-ins but I’m now getting a little stir-crazy so will be back on it on next Monday morning.

I know there are quite a few viruses and infections going round at the moment so it could be one of those; this is going to sound a little weird but half of me is hoping it is something like a cold or a virus. Why, you might, ask am I wanting to be ill?

Well, the reason for half wanting to be ill is that it’s good to be ill occasionally, as it shows that your immune system is working well really. And as I can’t remember the last time I had a sniffle, cold or anything else, then I was a little worried that my immune system might not be functioning as well as it could be.

When we are ill, the symptoms we display are the work of our immune system trying to fight whatever intruder has got into our bodies, so if you don’t get ill it might suggest that your immune system is unable to react to the invasion in the right way.

The other reason why I don’t think I get ill very often is the fact that I live on my own and  work from home too, so the amount of time I spend with other people is not as much as others, so I tend not to get colds or other illnesses from other people. Now this might sound like I’m a bit of a loner, but I assure you I’m not and I get out and about a lot, but it’s not the same as sharing a house with other people is it?

I feel that my diet is pretty good; as I’ve said in previous blogs, I cook  most of my meals from scratch and try to eat as much variety as possible to ensure I get the nutrients I need to stay healthy. So I know that if I keep doing what I’m doing I will get back into my routine within a few days and continue towards my goal of changing my body shape. I’m still eating meals off a side plate and finding that I’m now satisfied with this amount of food.

Foods to help with immunity:

  • Any purple, red and orange foods: these foods tend to contain high levels of antioxidants which the body needs when it’s under attack, so berries, sweet potatoes, oranges and red peppers.
  • Dark Green leafy vegetables: again these contain a high level of vitamins and minerals & antioxidants.
  • Nuts & seeds: both are packed fill of essential fats and minerals such as zinc and selenium.
  • Good quality protein – fish, poultry and lean red meat.

And with spring around the corner (hopefully), I’m really looking forward to eating all the lovely fruit and vegetables that are soon to be in season too.

So a little stumble along the way has only made me more determined than ever to reach my goal….

Leave a Reply

