Operation Body Shape – Time to start it again…

Well you’ve probably noticed that I haven’t written a post for a good few weeks; well the reason for this was that February was a complete write off when it came to working towards my goal.

It did start well but then I got sick, then work got really busy and then I just lost all motivation to do it, even though I know I was making good progress towards my goal.

But there lies a big issue.The goal I’ve set myself is very much achievable and realistic but then there aren’t really any proper parameters that will help me know that I’ve achieved it.

Changing my body shape and being the fittest I can be is all good and well, but what does that truly mean?

So I’ve been racking my brain for a more tangible goal to work towards and then I remembered that I’ve got a dress in my wardrobe that I bought  a number of years ago for a couple of weddings I was going to. It was very expensive, so it managed to survive the wardrobe clear-out in January as I couldn’t bring myself to give it away, knowing how much I paid for it. When I bought it I couldn’t fit into it but had a few months to try. Well the weddings have been and gone and still I’ve never worn it.

And here is said dress, every time I look at it I think – one day I will be wearing it and feeling fabulous.

So now I still want to change my body shape and be as fit as I possibly can, but now I’ve got something to work towards – fitting into this dress.

I am attending a charity ball on the 18th August. It’s the “Wear Your Wedding Dress Again” annual charity event (http://www.wearyourweddingdressagain.org/) and the charity they are supporting this year is Aching Arms (http://www.achingarms.co.uk/) and  I want to wear this dress.

It also puzzles me that I actually enjoy going to the gym and  I don’t see it as a chore at all. In fact when I walk into the health club I’m a member of I actually feel like I’m treating myself.  So why do I still make excuses not to go?!? Some of the reasons I don’t go are:

  • Too tired – Go to bed earlier!!
  • Will go tomorrow – as my mum says “tomorrow never comes” so need to seize today and just do it!!
  • Got an early meeting so can’t fit it in (But I could if I did a workout at home rather than at the gym).

All these excuses are so easy to overcome, yet I still find it hard.

Working for myself means that I manage my own time therefore it’s quite easy for me to manage my time effectively to allow me to go to the gym; I also tend to go to the gym 1st thing in the morning, around 6:30am and get home for 8am, so there’s no chance of work getting in the way of it. And with the days getting lighter it’s so much easier to get up.

So from this week I’ve actually writing in my gym session in my diary so that I am unable to book meetings too early in the morning which will mean me missing a session. I usually get home from the gym around 8am which gives me plenty of time to get ready for the day.  I’m also going to try to do a bit of home exercising too; I’ve got dumbbells, skipping rope and a fit ball so again no excuse to be active as well as a number of fitness games on the Wii.

Where there is a will there is a way…..  I WILL ACHIEVE MY GOAL, I WILL ACHIEVE MY GOAL.

 

2 thoughts on “Operation Body Shape – Time to start it again…

  1. That’s exactly what I did Rachel, when I got this years diary I wrote in it mon-fri 9:30 (after school run)Gym! I have only missed if been poorly, and it feels good to keep a date with yourself. in our work we pride ourselves in helping others, and never seem to have time for ourselves, yet we are worth it too! you will look stunning in that beautiful dress lady 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

