One of Lincolnshire’s Hidden Gems

The other Sunday I was at a loose end so decided to head out to the coast to one of my favourite places in Lincolnshire, Anderby Creek.

I know we don’t have lots of crowds in Lincolnshire but if you want somewhere to go that is a complete escape from it all, Anderby Creek is the place for you.

I first found out about this place a couple of years ago when I got an email from Cloud Appreciation Society (this is not a joke & I am quite fascinated by clouds & their formations, I can see another blog post idea forming!) saying that the Worlds 1st Cloud Bar was being opened in the UK and in none other than Anderby Creek.

http://cloudappreciationsociety.org/the-worlds-first-cloud-bar-opens-in-the-uk/

         

Being fascinated by clouds I knew this was somewhere I had to visit. And I have to say I wasn’t disappointed when I got there, well a little as I picked a day where clouds were few and far between but the fact that I’d found somewhere which was a place to escape to if life just got a little too much!!

The day I went recently wasn’t the best day to choose, it was lovely and balmy in Lincoln but unfortunately on the coast the cloud hadn’t lifted so was on the chilly side but this didn’t make much difference to me, I always have my coat in the car so wrapped up warm and headed for the beach.

There were some displays about the local area and some people showing how sea salt is harvested.

Once on the beach there are miles and miles of golden sand before you to walk your thoughts, stresses and worries away.  On many occasions I’ve walked along the beach to Chapel Point which is about a mile from Anderby Creek & if I had wanted to I could have carried on walking further along the coast towards Ingoldmells or heading north towards Sutton On Sea.

     

There were plenty of people walking dogs, even people out exercising their horses but as the expanse of sand is so great it doesn’t ever feel crowded.

I can imagine if you go at the height of summer it might be a little more crowded as there are a number of caravan parks either side of the road as you drive to the car park but don’t let this put you off as there is plenty of sandy beach to go round for everyone!!

There isn’t much here in way of facilities, a couple of cafes and free public toilets so when I go I pack up a picnic to eat on the beach.

So if you’ve not been here and want to go somewhere different on a day out then this might be somewhere to add to the list of must see places to visit. I know that it won’t be long before I get in my car and take the drive out to here as I just can’t resist the fuzzy feeling I get when feel the sand between my toes and the fresh air in my lungs.

Here is a link for more information on Anderby Creek: http://www.anderbycreek.co.uk/

3 thoughts on “One of Lincolnshire’s Hidden Gems

  1. I like Anderby I take the kids there. I also like Huttoft Beach as you park right next to the beach which is great when you go with young children. There is also a fantastic ice cream van that appears in the afternoon in summer. We are so lucky to live in Lincolnshire with it’s beaches, the Wolds and the fantastic city of Lincoln.
    I look forward to read more of your posts.
    Jackie

    • Thanks Jackie for your response, a couple of people have mentioned Huttoft Beach so think I will have to do a little exploring next time I’m over there to find this new gem!! R xx

  2. I love both beaches. Why do people always think ‘Skegness’ – not that it doesn’t have charms of course – when Lincolnshire beaches are discussed? I think Sutton-on-Sea takes a lot of beating when the sun is out and the tea is brewing in one of the beach huts. You can’t beat a good, old fashioned day at the seaside.

Leave a Reply

