CrossFit Diaries, Part Two – Tech I Use

So the first month of CrossFit went ok, I managed 10 workouts and 2 runs (13.3km) in terms of measurements not too bad either:

  • Weight: 13 Stone, 4lb – 1lb loss
  • BMI: 30.9 – 0.2 reduction
  • Chest: 39 inches – 1 inch loss
  • Waist: 34 inches – 2 inch loss
  • Hips: 47.5 inches – .5 inch loss
  • Thigh (R): 27 inches – .5 inch loss
  • Thigh (L): 27 inches – .5 inch loss
  • Bicep (R): 14 inches – 1 inch gain!!
  • Bicep (L): 13.5 inches – .5 inch loss

Overall inch loss: 4 inches across my body – i’m happy with that!

So this months I’m going to focus on the tech that helps me stay on track

Tech

Polar Heart Rate Monitor:

I use this every time I exercise so I can monitor how I’m doing, how good my recovery is and overall cardio fitness!! I am able to set a goal for this which is either weight loss or cardio fitness, mine is set to cardio fitness and currently my weekly targets are:

  • Time target: 2 hours 25 minutes
  • Calories burnt target: 1200kcal
  • Intensity targets (different heart rate zones) Zone 1: 40 minutes, Zone 2: 1 hour, 35 minutes and Zone 3:10 mins

It monitors how i’m doing will adapt the programme if I’m not hitting the above targets after a month, every quarter it prompts you to do a fitness test and then gives you feedback as to the changes positive or negative.

Jaw Bone Up:

I wear my UP24 all the time and this monitors my movement and sleep, see my full blog post about this here: https://lincolnshiregirl.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/jawbone-up-a-year-on/ 

This helps me to stay on top of how active I am and also helps me to keep a good routine when it comes bedtimes & getting up times.

IPhone Apps:

MyFitnessPal-Logo

My Fitness Pal – I use this to log the food I eat so I can keep an eye on my calorie intake & the balance of Macro nutrients (Carbohydrate, Protein & Fat) as well as vitamins and minerals, this is linked to my UP24 Band and Map My Fitness so adjust my calorie allowance based on how active I’ve been on any given day.

Map My Fitness:

MMF Logo

I use this to monitor my runs, so I know the distance I’m running and my pace!! I’m not really bother whether my pace is a good pace (elite athlete pace etc), all I’m interested in is that I’m improving.

IMG_1677 IMG_1678

Recently I’ve also downloaded my WOD and Big Lift 2 apps to help me monitor how I’m doing at CrossFit.

My WOD Logo Big Lifts 2 Logo

These apps allow me to record my Personal Bests (PB), my 1 rep max weights and also times for some of the benchmark workouts – more about these next month when I’ll be taking you through the lingo of CrossFit – that gives me a chance to learn it some more as sometimes it all still sounds like a foreign language.

What tech do you use to keep yourself on track?

Until next time – tally ho!!

Leave a Reply

