Jawbone UP24 Test Drive

So back in July I wrote a post about my Jawbone UP band and how it had helped me to focus on my activity & sleep patterns, I was lucky enough to be asked if I would like to road test the UP24 band to see if I liked this too.

IMG_0508

The main difference between the UP and UP24 is that UP24 uses bluetooth to connect to the app (it’s also £24 more expensive) but having used both bands I do think this extra little bit of money is actually worth it now that i’ve experienced it. The main reason for this is that it reminds you through the day to sync your band and also gives you updates of how active or not you’ve been that day.

IMG_1526

Around the same time as getting the UP24, Jawbone did a major update which included a redesign, I quite liked the old design but the new design is more crisp, clean and clearer to use, within this update they also improve the food logging side of things.

IMG_0515 IMG_0513 NutritionIMG_0522

In the past I’ve used My Fitness Pal to log my food intake but decided to use this function instead as part of the test drive!! And there are bits of it I really like and bits that I found extremely frustrating.

The positives first:

  • How they rate each meal so you can see how good it is on a score of 1-10 (1 being not very health and 10 being super healthy),
  • The breakdown of the food you’ve consumed so far in terms of macro nutrients like carbs, protein & fat. The other
  • The rough amount of calories you’ve burnt against your intake so you can adjust it
  • Like the word cloud as this shows you if you are eating lots of the same foods (need to cut down my butter intake from the looks of it)
  • Barcode scanner – saves time when finding foods
  • If you eat out, many of the chain restaurant meals are in the database, again it’s still being added to but very good idea.

The negatives:

  • The database is still quite small and many foods are missing or the British term is not used, an example of this is double cream and I know I probably shouldn’t be eating it but it tastes so good with fresh raspberries!!! (I can’t for the life of me find it as I haven’t a clue what it’s called in the states if they even have it!!)
  • Barcode scanner – many UK foods aren’t on here so you end up having to manually add the nutritional information yourself which is time consuming & not that accurate.
  • The inability to store recipes, I love the barcode scanner idea but I cook most of my food from scratch so not very useful to me and it’s extremely tedious to input a recipe as you have to add every individual ingredient (this is a fault with most of the food logging apps, my fitness pal included, although you can create your own recipes on MFP and store them) and I don’t know about you but I tend to cook similar food regularly so having to put it in everytime is just boring!!

Overall, I think the food logging bit is a great idea as it gets people to understand the collation between food and activity but until the database is more comprehensive I’ll be going back to use MFP for this side of things

IMG_1370 IMG_1262

I love the reminder you can set yourself and it also prompts you to challenge yourself to into routines & healthy practices, I even got a message on my birthday (I think I need to get out more as I actually did a little gig when I saw it!!), all the step counted too!!

As you can probably tell I’m a massive fan of these clever little bands and so glad I invested in it as it’s really given me the tool I need to make changes to my life for the better.

I’d definitely recommend anyone thinking of getting some wearable tech to go for it!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

