CrossFit Diaries, Part Five – The Kit

Well we are now in 2015 and what a start it’s been, already completed 7 WODs so far so a great start to the year.

So looking back in December again the month didn’t start well as I was still suffering with my knee so decided to take another week off to rest it, during this week I really missed going to the box, seeing the other members & in general the feeling you get when you exercise I noticed that I was less productive in general & pretty mardy!!

In the end I managed 12 CrossFit WODs in December but no runs and my knee is still playing up but I’m determined to carry on, just being careful not to push myself too much or too quickly, probably should have thought about this when I decided I could do dynamic lunges which caused the issue in the first place!!

Anyway, here are how my stats are stacking up:

  • Weight: 13 Stone, 11lb – 6lb gain
  • BMI: 36.4, big increase!!
  • Chest: 39 inches – 2 inch loss (1 inch loss in total)
  • Waist: 35.5 inches – No change (0.5 inch loss in total)
  • Hips: 47.5 inches – 0.5 inch loss (0.5 inch loss in total)
  • Thigh (R): 26.5 inches – 0.5 inch loss (1 inch loss in total)
  • Thigh (L): 26 inches – 0.5 inch loss(1.5 inch loss in total)
  • Bicep (R): 14 inches – No change (1 inch gain in total)
  • Bicep (L): 14 inches – 0.5 inch loss (No change)

The above stats have started to be not very representative of my progress in my CrossFit journey as in December I really did start to see some results in terms of CrossFit moves & lifts or the fact that my clothes are looser!!

Back in July when I first started Crossfit, my 1 rep max (RM) for dead lift was 70kg, in December I made the 100 club by lift 100kg 1RM!! I am really chuffed at this and in other areas I’m also making gains.

I can do a pull-up or a few pull-ups using a black band (this is the thickest of all the bands but when I started I couldn’t even do it with one of these), so the challenge now is to start to work my way through bands to eventually do a pull-up unaided.

Still no progress with double unders but I know I haven’t really been putting the work in to improve these so what can I expect, what you put in – you get out!!

This month I want to talk about the kit we use.

When i first walked into the box I was struck by the lack of machines, I was used to walking into a gym and seeing row upon row of machines be this treadmills/cross-trainers or weight machines.

But the philosophy of CrossFit is:

Machine 2

So what do we use I hear you ask?

Processed with Moldiv

Top (L-R): Rope, Barbell with weight, Medicine Balls (3,6,9kg)

Middle (L-R): AbMat, Kettle-bells (various weights), Bars

Bottom (L-R): Ring, skipping ropes, weight (from 0.5kg up to 20kg)

Processed with Moldiv

Box!! At 3 different heights (L-R) 20″, 24″ & 30″

We also use the standard Concept 2 rowing machines as well as our own bodies, doing movements like burpees.

You wouldn’t believe that such simple pieces of kit can change your body shape & improve your fitness so dramatically but they do. You might also be thinking that you could easily get all this equipment relatively cheaply and set up an area in your garage or spare room and you probably could but the secret/science behind CrossFit isn’t really the kit itself but the way you use it in the form of the WODs & of course the community who help to push yourself further than you thought you could go.

The great thing about all this kit being quite simple is that it is all scale-able, meaning I as a relative newbie can workout next to someone doing the same exercises who has been doing CrossFit for years, which makes it a level playing field so to speak, you’re really competing against yourself more than the other people at the box.

Since the beginning of this journey there have been quite a few highs & lows but I now feel really part of the box, everyone has been so friendly, welcoming & helpful, I’ve started to make friends & feel part of something that I don’t think I ever want to leave. Thank you everyone!!

This has been helped by me mixing up the times I workout, I will always be a morning exerciser & will quite happily workout on my own if I have to but  I have been enjoying going to the evening WOD’s once in a while when other areas of my life get in the way which means I get to meet other members too!

The other thing that I’ve decided to do is get a paid for customised programme for 8 weeks (started 8th Jan) to help me improve some of my weak areas and try to speed up my results, I’m impatient & want to see result quicker than I’m getting. This means upping the number of times I go to box from 3-4 a week to 6-7!!

Doing this I know will put a strain on my body so next month I’m going to talk about one of the biggest passions in my life FOOD & nutrition and what I’m doing to ensure I stay healthy to be able to continue my CrossFit Journey.

Machine

So until next time, stay active & healthy.

Rachel

Leave a Reply

