CrossFit Diaries, Part Six – A reality check!!

January continued to be a good month in terms of getting to the box which was 24 times across the month, i also managed 1 run & 4 lots of intervals which is part of the custom programme I decided to do to help move me forward in areas that I felt I wasn’t progressing as much as I would like, more about that another post.

As well as increasing the amount of times I was getting to the box I really wanted to shake up my diet & food routine, so decided to give up dairy, sugar & alcohol, again more about this later.

I got into a really good routine with 2 visits on a Mon(am & pm), 1 on a Wed(am), 2 on a Fri (am & pm) and then Sat morning too!!

There were times that I didn’t feel like going especially in the evenings, i’m a morning person so doing anything in the evening is a struggle but knew that if I make the effort the reward would be worth it…

And this is where the problem was, half way through the month I had the realisation that I’d into a comfortable routine/zone & that I wasn’t actually pushing myself as much as I could, I was using my injuries as a bit of an excuse not to push hard… I struggled to remember a time when I ached after a WOD, I’m one of those people who quite likes DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness) as I know it’s my body telling me it’s changing & adapting and this wasn’t happening so to me I’d got comfortable.

Even with the custom programme I was given I was kind of taking it easy!! I started to question what I was even doing, don’t get my wrong I was loving being at the box & enjoyed the workouts but just felt I wasn’t actually achieving much. When I was pushed I was able to lift more than I thought but this was on the odd occasion and this is reflected in my stats so after 5 months of CrossFit I have made some progress but not as much as I feel I should have, there were again tearful drives home & me feeling extremely old & worn out (I know I’m not old, far from it), if it wasn’t my knee, it was my back and if it wasn’t my back it was my elbow or all three!! I think it’s great that CrossFit reaches across age ranges & that I could be WODing with someone who was 10/15/18 years my junior however for me it just highlighted how far I’ve got to go & yes I do use this as a motivator but if you feel in a vulnerable place it’s hard to swallow, if only CrossFit had been around years ago!!

  • Weight: 13 Stone, 1lb – 4lb loss in total
  • BMI: 30.4 – 0.7 point loss in total
  • Chest: 40 inches – No change
  • Waist: 34.5 inches – 1.5 inch loss in total
  • Hips: 46.5 inches – 1.5 inch loss in total
  • Thigh (R): 26 inches – 1.5 inch loss in total
  • Thigh (L): 25.5 inches – 2 inch loss in total
  • Bicep (R): 13.5 inches – 0.5 gain in total
  • Bicep (L): 14 inches – No change

I know these stats only show half the story as it’s about gains in the box & did achieve a few things, my nemesis double unders was conquered, well I managed to get 3 in a row so is still working in progress but I was buzzed for getting this movement cracked even if I’ve got a long way to go.

I managed to back squat 75kg and clean 50kg & these things I am proud of but, and there is a big but for me it’s not good enough.

Maybe I’m being hard on myself & anyone who knows me well knows that I’m extremely critical of myself & will only see what I need to do better than see how far I’ve come…

I feel I’ve cracked most of the weight movements, overhead squat being the one thing I still can’t do, this is mainly a mobility issue rather than strength issue but the thing that still leaves me utterly frustrated is the bodyweight exercises pullups, toes to bar & burpees!! The main challenge here is my weight, now I don’t want to focus on it as it’s just a number & not what your measured against but I know deep down that I need to shift some if I’m ever going to make significant gains in this area of CrossFit!! Yes I can get strong & I am stronger than I was 5 months ago but my strength to weight ratio will still be out of balance!!

This is where giving up dairy, sugar & alcohol comes in to it, now I would say my diet is pretty good most of the time however I have slipped into bad habits over the years which I wanted to crack, for dairy & sugar I last about 2 weeks!! Alcohol was 6 weeks!! And this is the challenge I love food, don’t we all but it’s more than that for me, it’s my life & my business so I need to find a way where is a happy balance & I gave admit I’ve yet to find this especially with the results I want!!

So as I type this now in the middle of Feb, feeling a little bit lost & not really sure where to turn for help (another thing I’m not good at is asking for help), I’m sure when I’m back at the box in the morning that it will slot into place, fingers crossed it will anyway!!

Sorry less about CrossFit this month but needed to write this stuff down & put it out there!!

Happy CrossFitting, next month will be more about food as I’ve not really touched on it this time!! Xxx

Leave a Reply

